ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA.

Minutes of Council Meeting held at the Royal Observatory on Friday 19th June 1959 at 8 $p \cdot m \cdot$

Present: Dr. Stoy (in the Chair) Dr. Cousins, Messrs Smits, Orpen, Meadows, Krumm, Churms, Johnston, Duncan, Lake and the Hon. Secretary.

Apologies for absence had been received from Dr. Evans, Messrs.Linton and Russeo.

Dr. Stoy announced the death of Mr. A.F. I. Forbes, a past President, Honorary Member, and member of long standing of the Cape Centre.

Members stood as a mark of respect for the late Mr. Forbes.

The Minutes of Council Meeting held on the 20th April 1959 were read and confirmed.

The Financial Statement presented by Mr. Orpen was as follows:-

FINANCIAL STATEMENT FOR 19th JUNE 1959.

EXPENDITURE	£	s.	d•	RECEIPTS	£		đ•
Subscription to "Sky & Telescope for period April 1958 to March 1959				Credit Balance at 1/7/1958	44.	2.	2.
	290.	12.	5•	Subscriptions.			
Cost of production of MNASSA July 1958 to June 1959 and of Handbook, 1959	2 31.	2.	9.	Arrears 9.13.0. Current 546. 0.0. Advance 43. 1.0.	598•	1/1.	0.
Collating, wrapping and) -	Entrance fees		13.	0.
despatch of MNASSA, Hand-					22.	٠ ١٠٠	0.
book & "Sky & Telescope"	37•	11.	6.	Sale of back & extra numbers of "Sky &			
Postage on MNASSA, Hand- book & "Sky & Telescope"	70	7.	6.	Telescope"	2.	18.	0.
3) 9•	/•	0.	Sale of MNASSA	20.	17.	0.
Addressograph plates and tray		9•	6.	Sale of Handbooks	2.	8.	0.
Essay Competition Prizes	10.	10.	0.	Sale of copies of "Sir		0	
Stationery	16.	6.	6.	John Herschel at the Cape"	2.	8.	0.
Postage, other than above	3.	16.	2.	Sale of "Universal Sundial"		2.	0.
Transvaal Centre Sub.				Contributions to the Gill	_		_
Transvaar Centre Sub.		7•	6•	Medal Fund	1.	11.	0.
Refunds of Subscriptions	2.	2.	0.	Donations	1.	14.	0.
Bank Charges	3.	17.	0.	Cape Centre Sub.		2.	6.
Credit balance,19/6/1959.	138.	19.	0.	Transvaal Centre Sub.		13.	0.
			_	Reprints, for Centres, of articles in MNASSA	40.	8.	6.
	£779•	1.			£779.		10.

It should be noted that, in addition to the credit balance shown above, an amount of £125. 0. 0. is held on Fixed Deposit at 4½% by the Standard Bank, A.B.C. Branch, Cape Town

G. Orpen

Hon. Treasurer.

A letter received by the Hon. Secretary from Professor Haffner was read by Dr. Stoy.

Dr. Haffner had represented the Society at a meeting at Bloemfontein where the training of physicists and chemists had been discussed.

Copies of the Presidential Address would be sent to Centres of the Society in time for the Annual General Meeting on the 22nd July.

The following whose name has appeared in the Monthly Notes was elected a Member:

Mr. M. Bohlmann, 137 Wilcocks Road, Bloemfontein

The following were dected Members subject to their names appearing in the Monthly Notes and no objection being received within a month:

> Mr A.J. Muller, 36 Fort Street, Bloemfontein Mr.B.J. Kempen, P.O. Box 24, Victoria West. Mr R.J.Wintle, P.O. Box 967, Cape Town. Paarl Amateur Telescope Makers, No.9 Vercuiel Str., Paarl. Mr R.V. Lawrence, off School Road, Van der Stel. Mr J.J. van Ellinckhuiyzen, 58 Aliwal Str., Bloemfontein. Mr R.J.S. Lipp, Box 285, Stellenbosch

The election as Associates of the Bloemfontein Centre was confirmed of the following:-

> Miss M.V. Quin, Bishop's Glen, P.O. Glen, Bloemfontein Mr P.V. Quin, Bishop's Glen, P.O. Glen, Mr H.W. Trollope, 3 Dromedaris Str.,
>
> Miss M.C. Smith, Pre.Steyn te Huis, U.O.V.S.,
>
> Mrs W.L. Muller, 36, Fort Street, Bloemfontein
>
> Miss C.F. Bonner, 33 David Fourie Street, Bloemfontein
>
> Mr C.R. Cooper, 33 John Knox Street, Bloemfontein

The following were elected Student Members of the Bloemfontein Centre:-

Master C.R. Green, Mr. B. Bohlman, Master C.M. Muller.

Mr. Meadows was appointed Scrutineer of the essays received in the Essay Competition. The Afrikaans entries would be judged by Professor Cillie, in the absence of Professor le Roux.

The following officers and Council would be declared elected for the year July 1959 to June 1960:

President:

Mr P. Smits

Vice-Presidents:

Dr. H. Haffner, Messrs/Anderson, Overbeek

1. Joints

Hon. Secretary : Hon. Treasurer :

Mr. A. Monzies

Mr. G. Orpen

Members of Council:

Drs. Stoy, Evans, Thackeray, Finsen.

Hon. Auditors

Messrs. Duncan and Johnston

The report of the Library Committee was adopted, £50 being allotted to set up the Library. The following were elected to serve on the Library Committee for 1959-1960. Messrs Smits, Duncan, Churms, Krumm, Meadows, and Lake (Librarian)

The Hon. Secretary was asked to write to Centres and directors of observing Sections for the Annual Reports.

The meeting ended at 10 p.m.