ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of Council Meeting held at the Royal Observatory on Wednesday 24th June. 1964 at 8.00 p.m.

Apologies for absence had been received from Dr. Evans (overseas), Dr. Cousins (on leave), Mr. Smits (away) and Mr. Churms (on duty).

Present: Mr. Lagerweij (in the Chair), Drs. Stoy, and Fuhr, Messrs Atkins, Bentley, Bondietti, Meadows, Orpen, Russo and the Hon. Secretary.

The Minutes of Council Meeting held on the 3rd June 1964 were read and confirmed.

Arising out of the Minutes, Mr. Bondietti reported that the Library Committee had met once, since the last Council Meeting.

Mr. Meadows in his report on the Forbes Essay competition said that generally the standard was disappointing.

Council adopted Mr. Meadows' recommendation to award F. A. Shillington R7. 50 as his essay did not warrant a full first prize.

The second prize is to be divided between F. I. Brown (3 rand) and P. A. Ashton (2 rand).

In the Junior Section M. Botham is awarded a 2nd prize (4 rand).

For the 1964-65 Competition it was decided to give competitors a definite subject on which to write: this decision to be referred to the new Council for 1964-65.

The Hon. Secretary reported the receipt of Mr. Morrisby's Presidential Address. Mr. Bentley was asked to read the Address at the Annual General Meeting to be held on the 22nd July.

The following were elected Members subject to their names appearing in MNASSA and no objection being received within a month:

Mr. H. Peet, 2 Burnside, Howard Drive, Pinelands, Cape.

Mr. A. H. French, P. O. Box 155, Johannesburg Mr. A. Readhead, P. O. Box 83, Shepherd Avenue, Bryanston, Johannesburg. Mr. M. W. Wedepohl, 1252 Boundary Street, Hatfield, Pretoria.

The election as an Associate of the Transvaal Centre was confirmed of Mr. J. D. Fisher, 25 Glen Road, Bramley, Johannesburg.

The following Officers and Council will be declared elected at the Annual General Meeing to be held on the 22nd July:

President Mr. H. C. Lagerweij

Vice-Presidents : Messrs. Bruwer, Morrisby and Smits

: Mr. A. Menzies Hon. Secretary Hon. Treasurer Mr. G. Orpen

Auditors Messrs Bentley and Raphaely

Drs. Cousins, Evans, Stoy and Thackeray Members of Council:

An offer by the Cape Centre to provide tea at the General Meeting was gratefully accepted.

In considering the draft Annual Report of Council, Mr. Meadows said that it was desirable that Centres send their Committee Meeting Minutes to Council, as is being done by the Transvaal and Bloemfontein Centres.

The meeting ended at 9.15 p.m.

A. Menzies

Hon. Secretary

on the National Committee for Astronomy.

1 Shageweg 16/9/1964