ASTRONOLICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of Council Meeting held at the Royal Observatory on Wednesday the 16th June 1965 at 8.00 p.m.

Present: Mr. Lagerweij (in the Chair), Drs. Evans, Fuhr and Stoy, Messrs. Atkins, Bentley, Bondietti, Churms, Orpen, Smits and the Hon. Secretary.

Apologies for absence had been received from Messrs Krumm and Russo and from Dr. Cousins.

The Minutes of Council Meeting held on the 5th May 1965 were read and. confirmed.

The Financial Statement read and presented by Mr. Orpen was as follows:

Receipts

Financial Statement as on 16th June, 1965

Expend	Ľ.	tu	re

invheurr ente			цесстрия		
	R.	C.		R.	с.
Subscription to "Sky and Telescope" for period July	7		Credit Balance, 1/7/64	341	<u>33</u>
1964 to March 1965	600	78	Subscriptions		
Cost of production of MNAS for period July 1964 to Ma			Arrears 27 90 Current 1261 50	4716	00
1965 and of Handbook for 1965	524	52		1346	90
	204	2	Entrance Fees	60	00
Postage on "Sky and Telescope" and MNASSA for			Sale of MNASSA	211	13
above period and on Hand-	4.00	50	Sale of Handbooks	14	70
book for 1965	120	50	Sale of back and extra		
Stationery	74	18	numbers of "Sky and Telesco	pe 5	10
Postage, other than above	15	93	Donations	3	00
Essay Competition Prizes	16	50	Interest on Building Society		
Addressograph Plates	4	18	Shares	11	25
Material for repairs and		88	Commission on Cheques	3	09
improvements to Epidiascop		00			
Binding volumes of MNASSA, "Sky and Telescope" and B.				ž	
Journals	97	55			
Fire Insurance Premium	0	80			
Bank Charges	13	37			
Credit Balance at 16/6/65	524	31			
R	1996	50	R	1996	50

Garrett Orpen Hon. Treasurer

Mr. Smits, seconded by Dr. Evans moved the adoption of the Fincncial Statement. This was agreed to.

The ballot on the Gill Medal Award was unanimously in favour of Dr. R. H. Stoy and of the Citation: "The Gill Medal for 1965 is awarded to Richard Hugh Stoy C.B.E., H. M. Astronomer at the Cape and Honorary Professor of Astronomy in the University of Cape Town for his distinguished contributions to astronomy notably in the fields of stellar photometry and positional astronomy, and for his earnest and selfless devotion over many years which has sustained and amplified the honourable tradition of the Cape Observatory, vitalised our own Astronomical Society and in every way promoted the welfare of the science of astronomy in Southern Africa."

Sixteen entries had been received in the Forbes Essay Competition. Mr. Meadows and Professor le Roux were appointed examiners.

The following Officers and Council will be declared elected at the Annual General Meeting to be held on the 28th July:

President	:	Mr. A. Menzies (proposed by Mr. Lagerweij, seconded by Dr. Stoy)
Vice Presidents	:	Messrs Lagerweij, Bruwer and Atkins
Hon. Secretary	:	Mr. T. W. Russo
Hon. Treasurer	:	Mr. G. Orpen
Members of Council	:	Drs. Cousins, Stoy, Thackeray, Mr. Geary
Hon. Auditors	:	Messrs. Bentley and Raphaely

Members considered the draft Annual Report of Council, which was adopted after the addition of some further paragraphs.

A request to Publish Professor Bleksley's lecture on 'Infinity' which appeared in MNASSA, Vol. XI, No 10 of 1952, in 'Spectrum', from the Editor, was read to the meeting. The request was agreed to.

The following whose names have appeared in MNASSA were elected Members:

Miss L. A. Lofthouse, 41 Duke Stree, Observatory, Cape

Mr. D. O. Lindeque, P. O. Box 19, Van Riebeck Park, Kempton Park, Tvl..

Mr. L. W. Witten, "Del-Mar", Wargrave Road, Kenilworth, Cape

The following was elected subject to his name appearing in MNASSA and no objection being received within a month:

Mr. L. McEvoy, 1 Calais Villa, Calais Road, Sea Point, Cape

Mr. Bondietti reported the receipt of an offer of 1 rand per volume for surplus B.A.A. Journals. Council agreed to accept this offer.

Dr. W. S. Finsen, proposed by Dr. Stoy and seconded by Dr. Evans; Professor Ch. Fehrenbach and Dr. Velghe, proposed by Dr. Evans seconded by Dr. Stoy, were elected Honorary Members, subject to their consent.

The meeting ended at 9.15 p.m.

Alhapmen 1965.

A. Menzies Hon. Secretary