Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at the Royal Observatory, on Wednesday, 28th July, 1965 at 8.00 p.m.

Mr. H. Lagerweij presided. There were about 30 people present, among whom was Dr. Warner of the Radcliffe Observatory.

Apologies for absence were received from Messrs. Krumm and Simenhoff.

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting, held on 22nd July 1964 were read and confirmed.

The Financial Statement, presented by the Treasurer, Mr. Orpen, was as follows:

Financial Statement for the Year ended 30th June, 1965

Expenditure			Receipts		
	R.	c.		R.	C .
Subscription to "Sky and Telescope" for the year	796.	33	Credit Balance 1/7/64 Subscriptions	341.	33
Cost of production of MNAS for the year and of Handbo for 1965		08	Arrears 27 90 Current 1261 50 Advance 95 00	1384.	д О
Postage on "Sky and Telescope" and on MNASSA			Entrance Fees	60.	00
and Hankbook	132.	50	Sale of MNASSA	231.	42
Stationery, other than used			Sale of Handbooks	14.	70
for production of MNASSA and Handbook	74.	53	Sale of back and extra numbers of "Sky and		
Postage, other than above			Telescope"	5.	10
and Revenue Stamps on receipts up to March 1965	20.	00	Donations	3.	00
Essay Competitions Prizes	16.	50	Interest on Building Society Shares	11.	25
Addressograph plates and ribbon	5.	48	Essay Competitions Prize Cheque not cashed	3.	00
Material for improvements and repairs to epidiascope		88	Commission on Cheques	3.	09
Binding volumes of MNASSA, "Sky and Telescope" and BAJournals	A 97•	55			
Fire Insurance Premium		80			
					-7
Bank Charges	23.				
Credit Balance at 30/6/65	347•	01			
R	2057.	29		R 2057.	29

The Society stands possessed of four shares in the S.A. Permanent Building Society to a total value of R200.00, per certificate C. 15778 dated 18/5/1960, and equipment and apparatus as per H. M. Astronomer's certificate attached, insured against fire under Policy 134760 dated 27/2/1962, in the amount of R600.00, with the Southern Insurance Society.

W. C. Bentley

Hon. Auditor

Garrett Orpen

Hon. Treasurer

for merule Book ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA Report of the Council for the Session 1964 - 65 Five Council meetings were held during the year. Twenty-five new Members and two Associates were elected. The number of ordinary Members in good standing is now 276, and 12 Honorary Members. The following were elected Honorary Members during the year: Dr. W. S. Finsen, Professor Dr. A. G. P. Velghe, and Professor Dr. Ch. Fehrenbach. The regular distribution of MNASSA and of "Sky and Telescope" has been continued and a Handbook issued for 1965. Council wishes to record its appreciation of the work done by the Editorial Board and by Mr. Krumm former business manager of MNASSA. In the Forbes Essay Competition street entries were received. subject chosen was "The Moon". At the request of the Scientific Adviser to the Frime Minister, Council's comments and views on the Monnig Report on Scientific Organisation overseas were sent to the Prime Minister's Office, and a request for ten further copies of the Council's views, complied with. Council notes with regret that the Port Elizabeth Centre has been dissolved and its members absorbed by the Observatory Society of Port Elizabeth. The Gill Medal has been awarded to Dr. R. H. Stoy. The receipt of the Minutes of the Transvaal Centre Committee meetings is greatly appreciated by Council, which notes with satisfaction and pleasure the continued activity of that Centre and of the Cape Centre. Much work was done during the year on the catalogueing and binding of books in the Library by Mr. Bondietti, to whom Council records its thanks and appreciation. The Treasurer's Report shows a satisfactory balance and Council's thanks are due to Mr. G. Orpen for his work as Treasurer. It is expected that the appointment of a Professor of Astronomy at Bloemfontein will lead to a renewal of interest at that Centre. Council wishes to record its thanks to Mr. A. Menzies for his work as Honorary Secretary during the past thirty years. A. Menzies Hon. Secretary Chairman

The Annual Report of Council was read by Mr. Lagerweij. In this report mention was made of the fact that the Society had been asked by the Scientific Adviser to the Prime Minister to forward comments and its views of the Monig Report on Scientific Organisation overseas, to the Prime Minister's Office. This had been done. The number of Ordinary Members was shown as 276 and Honorary Members as 12. The dissolution of the Port Elizabeth Centre had Council recorded its appreciation of the work done been noted with regret. in the Library by Mr. Bondietti, and also its appreciation of the services rendered by the Honorary Treasurer, Mr. Orpen and the Honorary Secretary Mr. Menzies, also the work done by the Editorial Board, and by Mr. Krumm, the former business manager of MNASSA. Regular distribution of the "Notes" and of "Sky and Telescope" had been continued and the Handbook for 1965 compiled and issued.

The following reports were then read:

Transvaal Centre - Financial Statement

Report of Comet and Meteor Section

Report of the Variable Star Section

Report of the Annual General Meeting held by the Bloemfontein

Centre on 22nd July 1965

The results of the Forbes Essay Competition were as follows:

Senior Section

P. R. de Vos Hugo First Prize

Second Prize A. Harrison

J. Grewar

Third Prizes D. May

Junior Section

First Prize Not awarded

J. Stevens Second Prizes

J. Worthington

N. Anderson

Third Prizes L. Moss

The Gill Medal was presented to Dr. R. H. Stoy by Mr. Lagerweij with the following Citation:

"The Gill Medal for 1965 is awarded to Richard Hugh Stoy C.B.E., H. M. Astronomer at the Cape and Honorary Professor of Astronomy in the University of Cape Town for his distinguished contributions to astronomy notably in the fields of stellar photometry and positional astronomy, and for his earnest and selfless devotion over many years which has sustained and amplified the honourable tradition of the Cape Observatory, vitalised our own Astronomical Society and in every way promoted the welfare of the science of astronomy in Southern Africa."

Election of New Council: As only sufficient nominations had been received, the following were declared duly elected:

President : Mr. A. Menzies

Vice Presidents : Messrs. Lagerweij, Bruwer and Atkins

Honorary Secretary : Mr. T. W. Russo
Honorary Treasurer : Mr. G. Orpen

Members of Council : Drs. Cousins, Stoy, Thackerary, and Mr. Geary

Honorary Auditors : Messrs Bentley and Raphaely

Mr. Menzies then took the chair, and called upon the out-going President, Mr. Lagerweij to deliver his address on "Eclipsing Binaries", after which Dr. Cousins proposed a vote of thanks, expressing the appreciation of the Meeting for the talk and for the very evident thought and work put into its preparation.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 9.45 p.m.

27/7/66