ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held in the Didacta Building, Skinner Street, Pretoria, on Wednesday, 1973 July 25 at 8 p.m.

Present: Mr. K. J. Sterling (in the Chair) and 55 others.

Apologies for absence were received from Messrs J. Hers and T.W. Musso, the Hon. Secretary.

Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held 1972 July 26 were read and confirmed.

Matters arising Nil.

Report of Council

for Year 1972/73 was read by the Chairman and adopted by the meeting. A copy is attached to these minutes.

Finance: The Financial Statement for the year ending 30th June 1973 was presented by the Acting Secretary and adopted by the meeting. A copy is attached to these minutes.

The re-appointment of Mr Raphaely and Mr Molyneux as Auditors was agreed to.

Observing Section Reports were read by the Acting Secretary on behalf of the

Directors, and will in due course appear in MNASSA.

- (a) <u>Variable Star Section</u>. Director Mr. R. P. de Kock.

 1751 observations were made by five observers.
- (b) Occultation Section. Director Mr. A. G. F. Morrisby.

 The Section made 375 observations during the year, apart from grazing occultations for which a separate report was prepared by Mr. M. D. Overbeek.
- (c) Comet and Meteor Section. Director Mr. J. C. Bennett.

 No comets were observed during the year by the Section. However,

 Comet Kohoutek 1973f discovered during this period should prove
 spectacular in December 1973 and January 1974. Details were given

 of a fireball seen from Pretoria and of observations of the

 Phoenicid and Eta Aquarid meteor showers.

/Arising

Arising from the Reports, Mr. C. R. Jenkins asked that the figure of h2 variable star observations against his name be corrected to read 420. The total would then read 2129.

Forbes Essay Competition, 1973.

The Acting Secretary read the Ajudicators' report (a copy of which is attached) and the following statement of prizewinners:

Senior Section:

First Prize:

Second Prize: Christiaan Thorburn, Westerford High School, Cape Town.

Third Prize: Maryna Giliomee, La Rochelle High School, Paarl.

Consolation

Prize: Sharon Kling, La Rochelle High School, Paarl.

Junior Section:

Dominic Thorburn, Westerford High School, Cape Town. First Prize:

Second Prize:

Grant Lewis, S. A. College Junior School, Cape Town. Third Prize:

New Council: The Chairman read the names of the Council Members elected for 1973/74:

President:

Mr G. Harding

Vice-Presidents: Mr K. Sterling

Dr P. Wild

Mr C. Papadopoulos

Members:

Mr S. S. Booysen

Dr A. D. Thackeray

Mr R. Hurly

Mr D. Overbeek

Hon. Secretary: Mr T. W. Russo

Hon. Treasurer: Mr G. Orpen

Miscellaneous: In the absence of the new President, the Chairman then called upon himself to present the out-going 'resident's address.

> At the conclusion of the address Mr D. Overbeek thanked the speaker, who received enthusiastic applause.

After a discussion on observing techniques and the merits of electronic devices as against the efficiency of the human eye in amateur work, the meeting closed at about 1.50 p.m.

HON. SECRETARY.