ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of the Council Meeting held 1981 April 13th at 20h00 at the S A Astronomical Observatory, Cape Town.

Present: Dr Feast (in the Chair), Drs Cousins and Holroyd, Messrs Bentley, Duveen, G. Larmuth, C. Larmuth, G. Orpen, Simenhoff, Turk, Miss Booth and Mrs M FitzGerald.

Apologies: for absence received from Dr Fairall, Messrs Bondiehetti, Hurley and Spencer-Jones.

Minutes: of the Meeting held 1981 February 9th, copies of which had been circulated, were taken as read, adopted and signed. In these minutes it was omitted that it had been agreed upon to reimburse the Secretary for travelling from Llandudno to the Observatory.

<u>Matters Rising</u>: a) Mr Duveen advised that "Sky & Telescope" prepays the postage and the cost amounts to between R70 - R100 per month; time taken for freighting is about 3 weeks instead of one month. Mr Bently is to write to "Sky & Telescope" regarding this matter.

b) Sale of Bounded MNASSA Volumes: Mr Orpen informed Council that to date he had received 3 enquiries for the bounded volumes. Mr Turk proposed that one free copy should be given the Observatory, which was seconded by Mr Bentley.

Honorary Membership: Mr Orpen advised that Honorary Members receive publications in an arbitary manner, and that a decision should be made as to what the various Hon. members should in fact receive. It was felt that the Chairman should make the decision regarding entitlement to publications. Thus, Dr. Menzies and local members are to receive all 3 publications; Dr A Bleksley the Handbook only; and all overseas members MNASSA only.

At present there are 12 Honorary Members and according to the Constitution the number should not exceed 15. A vote was taken and Messrs G. Orpen and A. Menzies were duly elected as Honorary Members. The Chairman expressed his pleasure at this selection.

Finances: Mr Orpen presented the attached Statement; and it was suggested that Mr Orpen should contact Mr Turk regarding the Society's Building Society Investments - to obtain the best interest rates.

New Members: Attached hereto a list of new members elected at the Council meeting held on 9th February 1981.

....2/

Gill Medal: Nominations for this award were received, and copies of the citations will be forwarded to Council members.

The meeting closed at 22h10.

Mary FitzGerald HON. SECRETARY

HON. CHAIRMAN