ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of Council Meeting held on 1991 November 4 at 20h00 at S.A.A.O. Cape Town

1. PRESENT

Dr T H H Lloyd Evans, President, in the Chair.
Dr I S Glass, Miss P Booth (Editor: Handbook), Mrs A Joubert (Business Manager and Membership Secretary), Mrs A Strauss, Messrs A D B Cameron, J Churms, M G Soltynski, J Spencer Jones and the Honorary Secretary H E Krumm.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Messrs J Bondietti and C R G Turk.

3. PRINCIPALS AND ALTERNATES

PRINCIPALS

Mr Jose Campos (Vice-President)
Professor W Wargau (Vice-President)
Mr Brian Fraser
Mr A Hilton
Mr M D Overbeek
Bloemfontein Centre - Mr H Terblanche
Cape Centre - Mr B Skinner
Harare Centre - Mr M J Begbie
Natal Centre - Mr K Wade-Lehman
Natal Midlands - Mr J Watson
Pretoria Centre - Mr M Poll
Transvaal Centre - Mr A McCrae

ALTERNATES

Mrs E Willis Mr J Spencer Jones Mr R Hurly Mr J Churms

Miss P Booth Attends Council Meetings Mr C R G Turk

Mrs A Strauss
Mr A D B Cameron
Mr J Bondietti

4. REPRESENTATIVE ON NATIONAL COMMITTEE OF INTERNATIONAL ASTRONOMICAL UNION.

It was agreed tonominate <u>Dr T H H Lloyd Evans</u> as the Society's Representative on the National Committee for the next prescribed period of three years. The Secretariat of the FRD would be informed accordingly. Dr Lloyd Evans succeeds Mr J Hers who was nominated in 1988.

It is required that the Society's nominees must be members of the parent body, namely the International Astronomical Union.

5. MINUTES

Minutes of previous council meeting held on 1991 August 26, copies of which had been circulated, were taken as read.

Amendment to the Minutes.

The Membership Secretary pointed out that the following item had been omitted from the Minutes:-

CONSTITUTION: ITEM 12 - CENTRES

It was agreed to amend the Constitution to read as follows:"A group of not less than five (5) full members residing in the
same locality may, after receiving the approval of Council, form
themselves into a Centre".

It was proposed by Dr I Glass and seconded by Mr J Spencer Jones that minutes be accepted as amended. Confirmed.

6. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES.

(i) NATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON ASTRONOMY: Minute No.5(ii)

Dr T Lloyd Evans tabled the minutes of the ASSA Symposium held on 24 October 1991. The members of the committee consisted of Mrs A Strauss, Dr T Lloyd Evans and Dr I Glass.

- (1) Meetings would be held on Thursday 24 and Friday 25 April in the lecture theatre of the SA Museum. Public lecture on Thursday evening in museum, star party on Friday evening at SAAO. Saturday 26 will be spent at the SAAO-tour and possibly exhibition of mirror making and amateur equipment. It is planned to hold four sessions per day. Lectures from 0900-1030, 1100-1300, 1400-1500 and 1530-1700.
- (2) It was agreed to provide the Committee with a sum of RlOO for correspondence puposes and to subsidise the fees of the Harare members Messrs Begbie and Vincent to the extent of Rl3O as they might have difficulty in getting currency.
- (3) The first mailing would be to those who had shown interest and who would be asked whether they wished to give a talk. The second mailing would be in January and would include the final programme and request for payment. It would appear that 65 might be attending although more might come.
- (4) Dr Lloyd Evans explained that the question of sponsorship was causing concern, especially as it was hoped to bring Janet Mattei of the AAVSO to this country for the Symposium. He would contact the FRD in this connection and would explain to her that attempts were being made to raise the necessary funds.

Council congratulated the Committee on what had already been achieved and thanked them for their hard work and dedication.

(ii) ENVELOPES FOR DESPATCH OF MNASSA .

Mrs A Joubert reported that she had ordered 1000 envelpes at a cost of R225,50.

(iii) DISTRIBUTION OF SPARE COPIES OF S&T TO CENTRES.

This matter would be discussed at the next meeting of Council.

(vi) JACK BENNETT AWARD.

This Award was as peculiar to the Pretoria Centre as was the de Kock Award to the Cape Centre.

7. FINANCE.

No report was avaiable due to the absence of the Hon. Treasurer.

8. NEW MEMBERS .

It was proposed, seconded and agreed that the following applicants be elected members of the Society in terms of Article 5(1) of the Constitution:-

P 0 Box CC99306, Johannesburg 2000 MR T W E BUDGE S.A.A.O., P.O.Box 25, Sutherland MR M FOUCHE 79 Rauch Avenue, Georgeville, Pretoria 0184 MR H G HOFF MR N LOUBSER Meulstraat 24, Caledon 7230 10 Eugene Marais Street, Sasolburg MR H PFLUG 450 Ben Viljoen Street, Pretoria North 0182 MR N B ROBINSON Huis Abraham Fischer, UOVS, Bloemfontein 9300 MR G STRYDOM 125 Upper Orange Street, Somerset West MR C VAN NIEKERK

9. MEMBERSHIP

The Membership Secretary reported that 20 subscriptions remained unpaid,

10. SUBSIDISED SUBSCRIPTIONS

Arising out of a previous decision by Council to subsidise members $_{\mathbb{W}}ho$ were legitimately no longer able to pay the full subscription, it was suggested and seconded that the present subscription be reduced to R40 per annum.

11. CLOSING

There being no further business the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 21h50.

12. NEXT MEETING

Agreed to hold next Council meeting on 27 January 1992 at 20h00.

CHAIRMAN. 1. Ilyster