ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of Council Meeting held on 1992 June 22 at S.A.A.O. Cape Town.

1. PRESENT

Dr T H Lloyd Evans, President in the Chair.

Dr I S Glass, Miss P Booth, Mrs A. Joubert, Mrs Elmara Willis, Messrs A D B Cameron, J Churms, D Duprez (Hon. Treasurer), M G Soltynski, J Spencer Jones, C R G Turk and the Hon. Secretary H E Krumm. M A Cameron's name was omitted from the previous meeting of Council.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Mrs A Strauss, Mr J Bondietti and Mr Brian Skinner.

3. MINUTES

Minutes of previous Council Meeting held on 1992 April 22, copies of which had been circulated, were taken as read. After the name of Mr Kuhn had been corrected to read Koen, it was proposed by Mr J Churms and seconded by Mr Cameron that the minutes be accepted as a reliable record of the proceedings. Confirmed and signed.

4. (i) NATIONAL SYMPOSIUM OF ASTRONOMY: 23 - 25 APRIL 1992 Minute No. (ii)

The Symposium, which was held at the South African Museum, Cape Town proved to be a great success. It was attended by 100 professional and amateur astronomers from all over the Country. A hearty note of thanks and congratulations was accorded to the organising Committee consisting of Dr T Lloyd Evans (Chairman), Dr Ian Glass and Mrs Anne Strauss for having arranged and directed the proceedings. Mrs Elmara Willis was thanked for the part she played in the success of the event. Mrs Hettie Glass would be written to, to thank her for organising the braai at the S A A O so competently.

It was agreed to send Professor M A Cluver, Director of the S A Museum, a cheque for R100.00 as a token of Council's appreciation for making the museum's premises available for the Symposium without charge.

(ii) ASTROLOGICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTH AFRICA: Minute No. 4 (iv)

Council's letter of 29 February 1992 to the Society and their reply of 5 May 1992 refer. It was clear that they had no intention of changing their name nor refraining from using our acronym. They felt relaxed that most astronomers and astrologers knew the difference between the two disciplines "A S S A" formed part of their "logo". Moreover, they were incorporated by the Registrar of Companies as an association, not for gain, in 1990. Council decided to ignore their reply and to take no further action.

(iii) RHODES UNIVERSITY: ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY: Minute No. 8

They had not reacted to Council's suggestion that they join A S S A as a "Society" member. (According to the list of new society members attached to these minutes, it will be noted that a Mr S E Walsh of Rhodes University had applied for membership of A S S A).

5. OBITUARY: CHRISTOS PAPADOPOULLOS

Mr Papadopollous died on 9 May 1992 in Johannesburg after a short illness at the age of 84. He was President of the Society in 1974-1975, awarded the Gill Medal in 1981 and was an Honourary Member of the Society. He was a highly respected member of the Society and an ardent and accomplished observer. He will long be remembered for his TVMPSA (Total Visible Magnitude Photometric Sky Atlas). A full obituary notice will appear in MNASSA.

6. FINANCE

The Hon. Treasurer, Mr DuPrez, presented his Financial Statement for the period 1 July 1992 to May 1992, a copy of which is attached to these minutes. After a brief discussion it was proposed by Mr C R G Turk and seconded by Mrs A Joubert that the statement be accepted. Confirmed.

The Hon. Treasurer would report on his discussions with the Auditor on the Composition of the audited statement at the next meeting of council.

7. NEW MEMBERS

It was proposed, seconded and confirme that the following applicants be elected members of the Society in terms of Article 5(1) of the constitution:

1.	MR R. FULLER MR S E WALSH	P.O. Box 1937, Cape Town, 8000 College House, Rhodes University,
4.	NN 5 E WALSH	Private Bag 1028, Grahamstown, 6140
З.	MR P J RETIEF	Electronics Unit-Soekor, P.O. Box 307, Parow, 7550
4.	MR R VAN ROOYEN	P.O. Box 10104, Secunda, 2302
5.	PROF A V HALL	29 Barmbeck ivenue, Newlands, 7700
6.	MR W M BIEMOND	P.O. Box 815, Illisras, 0555
7.	MR M STONE	7 Wellington Mews, Wellington Avenue, Wynber;, 7800

8. SUBSIDISATION OF SUBSCRIPTION FEES

Originally, elderly members who could be afford the full subscription, paid a reduced subscription of R40 per annum. Council decided that in future such members would be subsidised to the extent of 50% of the anual subscription.

9. **LOGO**

Arising out of a suggestion by Mr J Sencer Jones it was agreed that consideration be given t the design of a suitable logo for the society perhaps smilar to that which appeared on the blue cover of the national symposium.

10. HISTORICAL SECTION

It was agreed to give effect to a sugestion by Mr Jose Campos that the society form a Historcal Section. Mr J Spencer Jones to become its first diretor.

11. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

(1) Date: 29 July 1992

(2) Office Bearers and Members of Council

Subject to the persons concerned agreeing to stand, I wish to nominate the following for the ASSA Council for 1992/93:

President	Mr M G Soltynski
Vice Presidents	Prof W Wargau, Dr T Lloyd-Evans, Mr B D Fraser
Hon. Secretary	Brian Skinner
Hon Treasurer	Mr D Duprez
Members	Prof B C Raubenheimer, Mr A S Hilton, Mr D Overbeek, Mr H Krumm and Mr J Watson

The Hon. Secretary indicated that he was not standing for re-election as Hon. Secretary but was prepared to serve on Council.

> Signed C R G Turk 14 June 1992

12. <u>Date</u> of next meeting:

13. <u>Closing</u>: There being no further business. The Chairman adjourned the meeting at 22h30.

DATE:

... CHAIRMAN

Sky-high honour for SA physicist

ASTROPHYSICIST Professor Michael Feast of Rondebosch has been awarded the De Beers Gold Medal.

The award recognises his achievements in research and his leading role in establishing South Africa as a major contributor to international astrophysics.

During his 16 years as director of the South African Astronomical Observatory he attracted a research staff of 12 internationally recognised astrophysicists, including people from Australia, UK, Japan, New Zealand, Ireland and the US.

He is regarded as one of the world's authorities on the size and scale of the universe and an expert on our galactic neighbours, the Magellanic Clouds, and the Milky Way. The De Beers award is

The De Beers award is considered to be the greatest distinction that can be conferred in SA in physics.

Professor Feast said it was the first time the medal had gone to an astronomer.

He is currently spending a year in the UK as Royal Society Research Fellow in the Institute of Astronomy at Cambridge.