ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 14 SEPTEMBER 1992

1 PRESENT :

M G SOLTYNSKI, H KRUMM, A JOUBERT, J SPENCER-JONES, J CHURMS, P BOOTH, C TURK, B SKINNER AND A CAMERON.

- 2 APOLOGIES : I GLASS, T LLOYD-EVANS, D DUPREZ
- 3 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING: READ AND CORRECTED.

TO BE SIGNED AND CIRCULATED AFTER CORRECTIONS.

4 COUNCIL PRINCIPALS AND ALTERNATES:

	PRINCIPALS	ALTERNATES
PRESIDENT	: M G SOLTYNSKI	
		TO CONTROL OF THE CO. TO CONTROL OF
	: PROF W WARGAU	J SPENCER-JONES
	DR T LLOYD-EVANS	
VICE PRESIDENT	: MR B D FRASER	MR R HURLY
HONORARY SECRETARY	: MR B SKINNER	
HONORARY TREASURER	: MR D DUPREZ	
MEMBERS	: PROF B C RAUBENHEIMER	MR A CAMERON
	MR A S HILTON	MR J CHURMS
	: MR D OVERBEEK	MR C R G TURK
	: MR H KRUMM	
MEMBERSHIP SEC	: MRS A JOUBERT	
HANDBOOK EDITOR	: MS P BOOTH	
MNASSA EDITOR	: MR J CHURMS	
BLOEMFONTEIN CENTRE	MR H TERBLANCHE	MS P BOOTH
CAPE CENTRE	: MR M STONE	
HARARE CENTRE	: MR M BEGBIE	MRS A JOUBERT
NATAL CENTRE	: MR K WADE-LEHMAN	DR I S GLASS
NATAL MIDLANDS	: MR J WATSON	?
PRETORIA CENTRE	: MR M POLL	MR C D ALLEN
TRANSVAAL CENTRE	: MR A MCCRAE ? ?	MR J BONDIETTI

- 5 FINANCE : NOT DISCUSSED DUE TO ABSENCE OF THE HON TREASURER.
- THE FOLLOWING <u>NEW MEMBERS</u> WERE PROPOSED, SECONDED AND ACCEPTED IN TERMS OF ARTICLE 5(1) OF THE CONSTITUTION:
 - 1. MR P BIEWENGA P O BOX 32230, GLENSTANTIA 0010
 - 2. MS M BOTHA 301 SIMMETRIE STREET, MEYERSPARK 0184
 - 3. MR N P DE BEER P O BOX 395, MOSSEL BAY 6500
 - 4. W A DE BEER TWEERIVIEREN, JOUBERTINA 6410
 - 5. MISS A DU PLESSIS P O BOX 50, KOPPIES 9540
 - 6. MR P I HARRISON P O BOX 526, UMHLANGA ROCKS 4320
 - 7. MR T A JONKER P O BOX 737, LINK HILLS 3652

- 8. MR P KAPP P O BOX 1606. DURBANVILLE 7550
- 9. MR V LABAT 2 SHANNON COURT, YORK ROAD, ROSEBANK 7700
- 10. MR P J MEINTJIES PHYSICS DEPT PU VIR CHE POTCHEFSTROOM
- 11. DR R S STOBIE S.A.A.O. P O BOX 9 OBSERVATORY, 7935
- 12. MRS I S TERREBLANCHE P O BOX 9292. JOHANNESBURG 2000

7 <u>LOGO</u>:

THE ADOPTION OF A SOCIETY LOGO WAS DEEMED DESIRABLE.

TWO EXAMPLES WERE SUBMITTED TO COUNCIL AND MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO COMMENT TO THE HOH SECRETARY BEFORE THE NEXT COUNCIL MEETING AT WHICH ONE OF THEM WILL BE ADOPTED.

8 SYMPOSIUM :

TO BE HELD BI-ANNUALLY, ALTERNATING WITH THE NATAL CENTRE'S IZINKHANYEZI WEEKEND. IT WAS PROPOSED THAT THE PRETORIA CENTRE BE ASKED TO ORGANIZE THE 1994 EVENT. PROPOSED BY: M SOLTYNSKI SECONDED BY: C TURK. SUGGESTED VENUE: PRETORIA CENTRE.

9 DEEP SKY OBSERVING SECTION :

A LETTER WAS RECEIVED FROM MR AUKE SLOTEGRAAF
OF STELLENBOSCH CONCERNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A DEEP
SKY OBSERVING SECTION. COUNCIL WAS IN FAVOUR OF THIS
PROPOSAL AND MR SLOTEGRAAF WAS DULY APPOINTED DIRECTOR.
PROPOSED: M SOLTYNSKI SECONDED: C TURK.

10 PROPOSED HELDERBERG CENTRE :

A LETTER HAS BEEN RECEIVED FROM THE COMMITTEE OF THE HELDERBERG ASTRONOMY CLUB VIA THE CAPE CENTRE. C TURK UNDERTOOK TO VISIT THEM TO EXPLAIN THE PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING FOR AFFILIATION TO A.S.S.A. AS A SECTION.

11 GENERAL :

- 1 THE TRANSVAAL CENTRE IS COMMENDED ON THE INNOVATIVE ANNUAL STATEMENT FOR ITS MEMBERS.
- 2 HANDBOOKS : A 20% DISCOUNT IS TO BE GIVEN TO THOSE WHO PURCHASE 20 OR MORE COPIES FOR RESALE TO OTHERS AT THE SOCIETY'S RECOMMENDED PRICE. PROPOSED: J SPENCER-JONES AND SECONDED : M SOLTYNSKI.

- GILL MEDAL : THE MEDAL WILL BE PRESENTED TO PROF B WARNER ON WEDNESDAY. OCTOBER 7TH AT S.A.A.O. PROPOSED : J CHURMS SECONDED : H KRUMM.
- 4 HONORARY MEMBERS : THE FOLLOWING HAVE BEEN ELECTED BY COUNCIL :

 MR W HIRST PROP: J CHURMS, SEC: A CAMERON.

 DR FUHR PROP: J CHURMS, SEC: H KRUMM.

 ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.
- 5 CORRESPONDENCE: JOHANNESBURG PLANETARIUM HAS APPLIED TO BECOME AN INSTITUTIONAL MEMBER OF A.S.S.A.
- 12 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: MONDAY 16TH NOVEMBER 1992 AT 19H30.