ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA Minutes of COUNCIL Meeting Held on 21 June 1993

1 <u>PRESENT</u>: M G Soltynski, I S Glass, A Joubert, J Spencer-Jones, J Churms, P Booth, B Skinner, R Hurly, D Duprez, C D Allen, J Bondietti, T Lloyd Evans, C Turk.

2 APOLOGIES : Messrs ADB Cameron and H Krumm

3 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING : Taken as read & accepted.

4 MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES :

4.1 STATIONERY : A Joubert wants 50 sheets, D Duprez wants 20 sheets.

4.2 HELDERBERG CENTRE : To be informed that they are now an official Centre of the ASSA. (MGS is to write).

- 4.3 NEW MEMBERS : List of new members provided by Ms A Joubert. Mr C Turk proposed that they be accepted pending publication of their names in MNASSA.
 * * * A letter explaining the position regarding the supply of Sky & Telescope to new members is to be drafted by MGS and AJ.
- 4.4 SCIENCE POLICY : C Turk offered to present a 6 week course for the "disadvantaged" community. MG Soltynski will liase with Mr K Gottschalk & discuss dates.
- 4.5 SOCIETY'S ASSETS : C Turk to provide a copy of the 1974 list Borrowers are responsible for any damage to equipment they have borrowed. Proposed: MG Soltynski Seconded: I Glass
- 4.6 BROCHURE : MGS and AJ to draft a new membership application form.

5 FINANCE : * Financial statement tabled. * Members not resident in the Republic of South Africa are to be asked to pay extra for the mail sent to them. (* * AJ) * The Sky & Telescope clearing agent in the docks is to be approached re: high costs. (* * AJ) * C Turk reported on investments at the United Bank, the documentation of which has vanished without trace.

- * * * The Hon Treasurer warned that due to rising costs, the Society Subscriptions will have to be increased next year. This to be discussed at the February 1994 Council Meeting.
- 6 <u>NEW MEMBERS</u> : A list of 14 names put forward and accepted en mass. Proposed : R Hurly Seconded I Glass. Names to be published in MNASSA.
- 7 <u>CORRESPONDENCE</u>: A Natal Drakensberg Centre proposed by Dr Schreuder and four others.
- 8 SYMPOSIUM : Discussed at length. Prof W Wargau is to be offered R1000 float to cover initial expenses.
- 9 <u>GENERAL</u> :
 - 1 A.G.M. : Directors of Sections are to SEND REPORTS TO THE HON SECRETARY BEFORE 21/7/1993.
 - A.G.M. : The following persons have been proposed to serve on council for 1993/4 :-

President	: Prof Walter Wargau
Vice President	: Mr M G Soltynski
	: Mr B D Fraser
	: Prof B C Raubenheimer
Members	: Mr A Hilton
	: Mr M D Overbeek
	: Dr R S Stobie
	: Mrs L Rens
Hon Secretary	: Mr Brian Skinner
Hon Treasurer	: Mr D Duprez

Proposer : C Turk Seconder : R Hurly.

- 2 Long Service Award: a selection has been made.
- 3 Mr J Churms has informed Council of intention to resign the editorship of MNASSA in December 1993.
- 4 AMA to be provided with the Society logo for inclusion with Sky & Telescope.
- 5 The Handbook Editor was requested to consider the publication of data for additional centres.

10 <u>DATE OF NEXT MEETING</u> : 6th September 1993 at 19h30. NOTE : SEND SECTION REPORTS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE ! !

New members to be elected at the Council Meeting Tuesday 8th February 1994 1. Mr L.L.Donlin 406 Adelphi Centre, Sea Point, 8001. 2. Mr J.Davidson 3 Glencoe Road, Oranjezicht, 8001. 3. Mr S.C.Stylli P.O.Box 12337, Jacobs, 4026. 4. Mr D.B.Mann 2 Ilandre, 116 4th Ave., Fairland, 2195. 5. Dr J.H.Pretorius 36 Bibury Ave., Linkside, Port Elizabeth, 6001 6. Mr A.C.Loubser P.O.Box 538, Stellenbosch, 7599. 7. Mr B.B.van Dam P.O.Box 646, Sabie, 1260. 8. Mr N.Meyer 27, Ravensberg Ave., Newlands, 7700. 9. Mr C.P.G.van Tonder P.O.Box 2566, Pietersburg,0700. 10. Dr J.M.Jordaan P.O.Box 40035, Arcadia, 0007. 11. D.P.Smits H.R.A.O. P.O.Box 443, Krugersdorp, 1740. 12. Mr C.P.Skeen P.O.Box 9383, Newcastle, 2940. 13. Ms F.Hobson Swartrivierdrift, P.O.Box 23, Klipplaat, 6255. 14. Mr G.Pearce 88 Cook Road, Claremont, 7700. 15. Ms J.L.Pieterse P.O.Box 1009, Pinegowrie, 2123. 16. Mr E.Resnik P.O.Box 947, Gallo Manor, 2052. 17. Mr P.T.Crook 9 Ottawa Ave., Robindale Ext 1, Randburg, 2194. 18. Mr A.W.van Winsen P.O.Box 2278, Halfway House, 1685. 19. Mr J. Wightman – 5 Waterford Ave., Parkview, 2193. 20. Mr J. Ashton 9A Plantation Road, Eastleigh, Edenvale. 1610. 21. Mr A.Hari P.O.Box 1843, Johannesburg, 2000. 22. Mr P.C.Bosman P.O.Box 1318, Roosevelt Park, 2129. 23. Ms Pepper 55 Doak Street, Hazel Park, Germiston,1401. 24. Mrs M.S.Brazelle P.O.Box 1930, Nelspruit, 1200. 25. Mr A.Stander P.O.Box 3981, Middelburg, 1050. 26. Mr K.Retief 37 leslie Street, Murrayfield, 0184. 27. Mr C.L. Rijsdijk c/o Diocesan College, Campground Road, Rondebosch, 7700

- OBITUARY: Council mourn the death of Dr KG Fuhr on Dec 18 1993. Three Council members attended his funeraland a letter of condolence was sent to his family. A short obituary will appear in MNASSA.
- SCIENCE POLICY: The Royal Society of South Africa has drawn 9 up a discussion document which includes input from the ASSA.
- 10 MOTION OF THANKS: Mr H Krumm proposed a motion of thanks to the editors of Centre publications, Section newsletters and the Handbook editor for doing sterling work to promote astronomy.
- ALTERNATE: As a result of a notice regarding the vacancy for 11 Treasurer of the Society appearing in the Cape Centre newsletter, Mr Bill Bremer has volunteered to join Council as alternate. The Cape centre have been thanked for publishing the notice.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 22h50.

12 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 11 April 1994 at 20:00 hours.

Prop J. Bondietti Sec C.D. Gray

Bokund How Sec

8