ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

Minutes of the Council meeting held on 1996 June 10 at the S.A.A.O., Observatory, Cape of Good Hope.

- 1. PRESENT: P van Blommestein (in the Chair), B.Skinner R.Hurly, J.Bondietti, C.Turk, A.Joubert, P.Booth and D.DuPrez
- APOLOGIES: Prof B.C.Raubenheimer, Dr R Stobie, C D Allen, H Krumm, M A Gray, D Smits, C Gray and J Spencer-Jones.
- 3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: Read and accepted.
- 4. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:
- 4.1 Messrs C Turk and MA Gray were thanked for their efforts in rewriting clauses of the Constitution. (attached to these minutes).
 Vote of thanks proposed by R Hurly and seconded by D Duprez.
- 4.2 The Honoraria Sub-committee heard that certain Council members who were entitled to receive honoraria of R200 p.a. were also enjoying free subscriptions. Due to the increased subscription rates this cannot continue and they will be expected to pay the full subscription of their choice.

 Honoraria of R250 p.a. will be paid to the following persons:
 Business Manager, Membership Secretary, MNASSA Editor, Handbook Editor, Hon Treasurer and Hon Secretary.

Proposed by M G Soltynski and Seconded by R Hurly.

- 5 FINANCE: Over R30 000 in subs have so far been received.
- 5.1 The Bank Draft sent to Sky & Telescope in December has not yet been cleared in the U.S.A.. C Turk is to investigate.
- 5.2 Membership records and MNASSA subscriptions are now being administered using a computer program developed for us by Mr J.E.Skinner. This has improved efficiency and is being used by the Business Manager, Membership Secretary and Hon Secretary. A sum of R500 is to be sent to Mr Skinner in payment for his efforts.

 Proposed by C Turk and Seconded by A Joubert.
- 5.3 Numerous donations have been received from members when renewing their Subscriptions. These will be acknowledged by letter to be compiled by MG Soltynski and a list of their names is to be published in MNASSA. The Hon Treasurer is to provide a list of the names of donors to ASSA-ET to the Trust Secretary.

Robert S. Stobe

6 NEW MEMBERS:

The following new members were proposed by C Turk and seconded by D DuPrez: Miss M Botha, Mr M Brink, Mr W P Visser, Mr M Merifield and Mr J Grobbelaar.

- 7 CORRESPONDENCE:
- 7.1 The AGM will be hosted by the Johannesburg Centre again this year on 10 June as requested by Prof Raubenheimer.
- 7.2 A letter was received from Messrs C Turk and R Hurly proposing and seconding the election to Council of the following persons:

President:

Mr. A. Hilton

Vice Presidents

Dr. R. S. Stobie Mr. M. D. Overbeek

Prof. B. C. Raubenheimer

Members of Council

Dr. D. Smits

Mr. P. van Blommestein Mr. T. W. E. Budge Mr. T. P. Cooper

Hon. Secretary Hon. Treasurer

Mr. B. Skinner Mr. C. D. Gray

- 8 GENERAL:
- 8.1 The Acadamy of Science of South Africa (ASSA) has been contacted by MG Soltynski about the clash of acronym.
- 8.2 Centre Reps and Alternates on Council are reminded that they are to send the minutes of their Centre's AGM to the Hon Secretary together with the list of names and addresses of Centre office bearers, Before 20 AUGUST as stated in our Constitution (attached).
- 9 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 9 SEPTEMBER 1996

ISS 9/9/56