## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON 17 JUNE 1997 at the S.A.A.O.

#### 1 PRESENT:

Mr P van Blommestein (in the Chair), Ms P Booth, Mrs A Joubert, Messrs MA Gray, J Bondietti, C D Allen, C de Coning, A Slotegraaf and B Skinner.

# 2 APOLOGIES:

Drs D Smits and R Stobie. Messrs C Gray, A Hilton MG Soltynski, J Spencer-Jones, D Duprez, H Krumm, C Rijsdijk and T Cooper.

3 MINUTES OF MEETING held on 7 April 1997: These were accepted and signed.

# 4 MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:

**4.1 MNASSA and Handbook format change:** The sub-committee felt that it needed more information about the proposed changes before an informed decision can be made. Mr A Slotegraaf will attend the next sub-committee meeting where Handbook and MNASSA formats will be discussed.

The Sub-Committee is convened by Mr C Turk and comprises: Mrs A Joubert and Messrs C Gray, Spencer-Jones and Skinner. Mr J Bondietti has expressed a willingness to assist on this sub-committee.

- **4.2 MNASSA on the Internet:** The Editor proposed that MNASSA has a presence on the World Wide Web. This was agreed in principle. Contents would be selected articles from MNASSA and the full Index. January events from the Handbook could be published in that month.
- **4.3 Historical Section:** Mr Chris dc Coning has agreed to accept appointment as the Director of the Historical Section as from Jan 1998.
- **4.4 Donors to the ASSA** will be acknowledged by having their names published in MNASSA. (A Joubert is to send the names to the MNASSA Editor)
- **4.5** Gill Medal: Council has voted in favour of it being awarded to the person nominated.

#### 5 FINANCE:

No report was tabled as the Hon Treasurer is abroad.

#### 6 NEW MEMBERS:

All new members were accepted. Proposed MA Gray and Seconded by C de Coning.

# 7 CORRESPONDENCE:

Annual Reports have been received from Deep-Sky, Comet & Meteor Sections and the ASSA Endowment Trust.

### A.G.M:

8

Messrs C Turk and MA Gray have proposed the following persons be elected to Council at the Annual General Meeting which is to be hosted by the Johannesburg Centre on 10 July:

President:	Dr R.S. Stobie
Vice Presidents:	Mr M.D. Overbeek Mr A. Hilton Dr D. Smits
Members of Council:	Mr P. van Blommestein Dr D.M. Kilkenny Mr T.W.E. Budge Mr T.P. Cooper
Hon Secretary:	Mr B. Skinner
Hon Treasurer:	Mr C.D. Gray

9 **GENERAL**:

9.1 SYMPOSIUM: There will not be a 1997 Symposium. The details of the next Symposium are to be discussed at the next meeting of Council.

10 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 9 September 1997.

Peter lan Brannesten.