ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON 18 May 1999 at the S.A.A.O.

1 PRESENT:

Mr P van Blommestein. (in the Chair). Drs D Kilkenny & A Mahomed, Ms P Booth, Mrs A Joubert. Messrs C Turk. B Skinner. M Christianson. D Duprez. C Rijsdijk. J Spencer-Jones.

2 APOLOGIES:

Drs R Stobie & Messrs MG Soltynski, R Hurly, C Gray, M A Gray, G Bosch.C de Coning and all up country members.

3 MINUTES OF MEETING held on 20 April 1999 were amended and signed.

4 MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:

4.1 Membership lists from Centres:

The following Centres have sent their membership lists as requested: Natal Centre Natal Midlands Centre Cape Centre Johannesburg Centre Council thanks these centres for their co-operation and request the other of

Council thanks these centres for their co-operation and request the other centres to kindly send their lists so that we can work out just how many people Council represents.

4.2 Award Certificates:

The three award certificates were tabled. These are: 1. Certificate of Merit (for regular observers) 2. Director's Award (for sustained observing for more than two years) and 3. The President's Award (for exceptional efforts, to be specified in a citation printed on the certificate) will be awarded by Council on recommendation of the Section Director). Any number of certificates may be awarded by a Section in any year. These certificates are to be presented to recipients at an A.G.M. (either Society or Centre) if possible.

Directors of Sections are to apply to the Hon Secretary for certificates and keep a record of to whom these have been awarded.

4.3 Imaging Section:

Mr D Duprez has offered to direct the Imaging Section. in order to co-ordinate the photographic and CCD observations of members.

4.4 Gill Medal:

The awarding of the Gill medal was discussed at length and it was found that the sole nomination received was in fact legitimate. E-mail from Mr D Overbeek supporting the nomination had been mislaid by the Hon Secretary. Copies of the citation and ballot forms are to be sent via "Fastmail" to elected Council members for them to vote on the awarding of the Gill medal. Ballot forms are to be returned by June 4 1999. These will be processed to decide whether the award can be made.

4.5 Handbook:

It was agreed that the proposed Editorial Committee will endeavour to restructure the Handbook, but that the Editor will continue the production as before to ensure that there is a handbook in the year 2000.

4.6 Web presence for A.S.S.A.

An offer to design an Internet page for the ASSA was received from Mr C de Villiers. It was decided rather to approach Mr A Hilton (Director, Computing Section) who has the expertise and is a member of Council to design the web page. The reason is: shorter lines of communication with the web page editor, resulting in quicker changes when these are necessary.

5 FINANCE:

No report tabled.

6 NEW MEMBERS:

Six new members' names read. All were accepted subject to their names being published in MNASSA. Proposed by C Rijsdijk and seconded by M Christianson.

7 CORRESPONDENCE:

- 7.1 Council received notice of the passing of John Vincent, founder member of the Harare Centre after a short illness. A letter of condolence will be sent to his widow.
- 7.2 Letters and email received since the last meeting were read.
- 7.3 Mr D Overbeek has expressed concern that the families of deceased members are often unaware of the work of their departed loved ones. The Hon Secretary is to ensure that letters of condolence are sent to the relatives; and that an obituary appears in MNASSA.
- 7.4 A letter was sent to the Bloemfontein Centre on the 110th birthday of the Boyden Observatory.

8 GENERAL:

- 8.1 Applications for membership forms have been updated.
- 8.2 Council thanked Mrs Audrey Joubert for her efforts as Membership Secretary over the last few years.
- 8.3 The Annual General Meeting will be hosted by the Pretoria Centre on 28 July 1999.

9 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 17 August 1999.

Peter tan Brommesterin