ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD ON 17 Aug 1999 at the S.A.A.O.

1 PRESENT:

Mr P van Blommestein, (in the Chair), Dr A Mahomed, Ms P Booth & G Quick, Messrs, C Gray, B Skinner, R Hurly, M Christianson, G Bosch, C de Coning, C Rijsdijk, J Spencer-Jones.

2 APOLOGIES:

Dr D Kilkenny, Messrs MG Soltynski, M A Gray, C Turk, D Duprez and all up country members.

3 MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:

3.1 Award Certificates:

The three award certificate master copies will be kept in Cape Town at the SAAO. Paper is to be purchased so that a number of copies can be printed for distribution to Observing Sections. Proposed by C Rijsdijk and seconded by P van Blommestein.

3.2 Handbook:

The Editorial Committee who will endeavour to restructure the Handbook have yet to meet to discuss the issues. The current Editor will continue the production as before to ensure that there is a handbook in the year 2000.

3.3 Web presence for A.S.S.A.

Mr A Hilton (Director, Computing Section) has designed an Internet page for the ASSA. He has asked that instead of claiming web page costs annually, his annual ASSA subscription and a Sky & Telescope subscription be provided gratis. This was agreed. It was further decided that the Director should keep a record of costs incurred in setting up and maintaining the web page.

4 FINANCE:

The unaudited balance sheet was tabled. R Hurly proposed a vote of thanks to the Hon Treasurer for his excellent work for the Society.

6 NEW MEMBERS:

Seven new members' names read. All were accepted subject to their names being published in MNASSA. Proposed by C Rijsdijk and seconded by M Christianson.

7 CORRESPONDENCE:

- 7.1 Letters and email received since the last meeting were read.
- 7.2 The Pretoria Centre wrote and offered to host the ASSA Symposium June 2001. The Hon Secretary will write to thank them.

7.3 Letter from Danie Overbeek re: dwindling membership was read and discussed. The Membership Secretary reported that he had already written to all 1999 members who had not renewed for 2000, as it seems that not all copies of MNASSA had renewal notices

8 COUNCIL MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES:

The following Council persons were elected; at the A.G.M. and the following alternates were appointed to represent them:

Council person Alternate

President : Prof D. Smits Mr M.G. Soltynski

Vice President : Mr P. van Blommestein

Vice President : Mr D. Overbeek Mr D. Duprez

Vice President : Dr D. Kilkenny Members : Miss P. Booth

> : Mr. T.W.E. Budge Mr J. Bondietti : Mr. T. Cooper Mr R. Hurly

: Mr C. Rijsdijk

Hon Secretary : Mr B. Skinner
Hon Treasurer : Mr C.D. Gray
Business Manager : Mr C. Turk

Membership Secretary: Dr A. Mahomed
Handbook Editor : Miss P. Booth
Durban Centre Rep : Mr P. Cramb Mr M.A. Gray

Natal Midlands Rep : Mr J. Watson Mr M. Christianson Johannesburg Rep : Mr C. Volschenk Mr G. Bosch

Pretoria Centre Rep : Mr M. Poll Mr J. Spencer-Jones

Harare Centre Rep : Mr C. Mesu Mr C. Rijsdijk

Cape Centre Rep : Miss G. Quick Bloemfontein Rep : Mr C. de Coning

Hon Auditor : Mr R. Glass (Howarth-Zeller-Karro)

9 GENERAL:

- 9.1 Comet & Meteor section Director, Tim Cooper submitted a draft copy of his proposed publication of "Comet & Meteor observations" to Council with a request for assistance to meet the cost of publishing approx 20 copies, printed professionally. Mr Cooper is commended for his excellent work and will be approached by C Rijsdijk for further details and recommendations with regard to his request. (C Rijsdijk has the copy submitted)
- 9.2 Mr Rupert Hurly thanked Council for nominating him for Honorary Membership.

10 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 16 November 1999.

Peker van Brommestein 23/11/99