# ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF SOUTHERN AFRICA

# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF COUNCIL

Held on 15 February 2000 at the S.A.A.O.

Before attending to business, Council observed a minute's silence in memory of Mr Charles D. Allen who died recently.

#### 1 PRESENT:

Mr P van Blommestein, (in the Chair), Dr A Mahomed, Ms P Booth, Messrs, C Gray, B Skinner, M Christianson, J Bondietti, MG Soltynski, M A Gray, C Turk, D Duprez, C Rijsdijk and A Jones.

# 2 APOLOGIES:

Dr D Kilkenny, Messrs G Bosch, R Hurly, C de Coning and all up country members.

## 3 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING AND MATTERS ARISING:

The Minutes were read and corrected before being signed.

### 3.1 Award Certificates:

A sub committee (C Rijsdijk & B Skinner) was proposed to set the criteria and get the certificates finalised and printed.

Proposed C Rijsdijk & seconded by M Christiansen.

#### 3.2 Handbook:

The Editorial Committee will meet on March 15 to discuss the restructure of the Handbook and report back to the next meeting of Council.

# 3.3 Web presence for A.S.S.A.

The Internet page for the ASSA has been checked. Members report that suggestions and corrections made months ago have not been done. The web page needs to be dynamic and "user friendly". It is neither. The Hon Sec is to write to A Hilton to suggest a remedy, or discontinuation.

### 3.4 Symposium 2001

The Harare Centre have offered to host the ASSA Symposium 2001 at a date to be confirmed. They await an official letter to this effect from Council.

# 3.5 Comet & Meteor Section Monogram

It was suggested by the Director (T Cooper) that to lower the cost, the Comet & Meteor Section Monograms 1, 2 & 3 be published on compact disk rather than as a paper book. Council approved the creation of twenty copies of the work on CD. It was suggested that the original documents and photographs be lodged with the SAAO library for safekeeping.

Proposed C Riisdiik and Seconded by MG Soltynski.

### 3.6 Imaging Section Competition

The Director (Dany Duprez) will market an astrophoto competition to the local centres via MNASSA.

### 3.7 StarWeek 2000

Cliff Turk, Tony Jones and Rupert Hurly have, together with the Western Cape Tourism Board, marketed the concept of a dark sky week. In conjunction with Kirstenbosch this has been marketed as "StarWeek 2000" with numerous evening talks and public telescope viewing at the Kirstenbosch Botanical gardens. This will include a "Dark Sky Week" to be held from 5 – 12 March 2000. Expenses and income derived from this project will be controlled by the Hon Treasurer.

#### 3.8 Banners

Only two Centres responded to the letter sent to them enquiring if they would use a banner if it was provided. One narrowly voted for whilst the other regarded it as a waste of money. The proposal has therefore not found support from those for whom it was intended and the matter will not be pursued any further.

#### 3.9 Brochures

The membership application form has been reworked into brochure format by the Hon Secretary. This will be adopted with one change, the statement that Sky & Telescope is available to members at club discount rates. Brochures to be printed and sent to Centres.

### 4 FINANCE

The balance sheet for the first six months of the year was tabled. Because of the Hon Treasurer's hard work and a sound fiscal policy a healthy bank balance has resulted. Now it seems that income tax could be levied by the Receiver of Revenue.

# 5 NEW MEMBERS

Six new members' names read. All were accepted subject to their names being published in MNASSA. Proposed by MA Gray and seconded by D Duprez.

#### 6 CORRESPONDENCE:

- 6.1 Letters and email received since the last meeting were read.
- 6.2 Letter from D Overbeek received and discussed. See proposal below.
- 6.3 Letter from MA Gray re: pending change of Centre Rep for Cape Centre.

## 7 GENERAL:

- 7.1 After Mr C Turk was asked to recuse himself a letter from Mr D Overbeek proposing that Council honour Mr C Turk with the ASSA Long Service Award. This was seconded by B Skinner and adopted unanimously. It was decided to grant a sum of R500 for the book associated with the award, this to be selected by the recipient and suitably inscribed before being officially presented to him at the Cape Centre AGM.
- 7.2 Mr C Turk proposed that in light of the present good financial position Council consider lowering the annual Subscription. After discussion Mr Turk changed his proposal to: In order to reduce the balance to below the tax threshold Council members should make suitable motivations for using some of the funds for the benefit of the members. These motivations (with costs) are to be tabled at the next meeting.

  Seconded by Mr C Gray.

8 DATE OF NEXT MEETING: 11 April 2000.

Plan Blemmestern

- 6.1 A list of new member applications was tabled by the Membership Secretary. These persons have been accepted subject to their names being published in MNASSA. Proposed by M Christiansen and seconded by A Mohamed.
- 6.2 Honorary Members: The certificate for Dr Tom Lloydd Evans was given to Mr Cliff Turk to ask the SAAO to include it with other mail being forwarded to him in Scotland.

### 7 CORRESPONDENCE:

7.1 An email letter from Mr T Cooper of the Pretoria Centre was read to the meeting. He explained the progress being made in organising the 2002 Symposium. Council expressed support for the Pretoria Centre's efforts and pledged its support.

7.2 From Brian Fraser of the Johannesburg Centre who have asked to host the 2004 Symposium around the time of the celebration of the Republic Observatory's Centenary. Further details to follow.

# **8 ALTERNATES APPOINTED**

The following were appointed to represent the principals elected to Council:

Elected member		Alternate
Tim Cooper		Gordon Bosch
Simon Walsh		Case Rijsdijk
Peter Cramb	(Durban)	Andrew Gray
Peter Smits	(Garden Rt)	Andrew McConnell
Mike Begbie	(Harare)	Paul de Villiers
John Watson (Natal)		Mike Christiansen
Constant Volschenk (J'Burg)		Rupert Hurly
Michael Poll	(Pretoria)	Tony Jones

### 9 GENERAL

8.1 The President has lamented his not being able to attend the meeting and requested that the next meeting be held when he is available and provided his SAAO roster to enable Council to select a date that will not clash with his observing schedule.

# 10 DATE OF NEXT COUNCIL MEETING: Tuesday 6 NOVEMBER 2001.

# Council Principals as elected at the A.G.M.

President: Dr D. M. Kilkenny

Vice Presidents: Mr P. van Blommestein

Mr T. P. Cooper Mr C Rijsdijk

Mi C Rijsuiji

Member Ms P Booth

Mr S Walsh Mr B Skinner Dr D Laney

Hon Secretary: Mr B. Skinner will act as caretaker

Treasurer: Mr C. D. Gray

Hon Auditor: Mr R.Glass (Howarth Zeller Karro)