ASSA Scholarships Report for the period 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2015

by Maciej Soltynski (Convenor, ASSA Scholarships Committee)

The ASSA Scholarship

The ASSA Scholarship was established in 2000 to encourage the study of Astronomy at any Southern African university at the 2nd and 3rd year level. The Scholarship is funded by ASSA.

The ASSA Scholarship for 2015 has been awarded to Brandon du Preez, who is a second year science student at the University of Cape Town. He plans to major in physics and astrophysics.

Freya Bovim, who held the ASSA Scholarship in 2014, was forced to take an extended leave of absence from her studies for health reasons. She has in 2015 resumed her second academic year as a science student at the University of Cape Town.

HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships

The new HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships are generously sponsored by the Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory and are administered by ASSA. For 2015, the value of each one was R14 000, and they were awarded to the following students:

Michael Sarkis, a third year science student at the University of the Witwatersrand.

Jeremy Smith, a third year student studying electrical and computer engineering at the University of Cape Town.

Verlon Etsebeth, who is entering his third academic year in science at the University of South Africa. Verlon held a SAAO-ASSA Scholarship in 2014.

In 2016 the Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory will fund three HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships with a value of R16 000 each.

South African Astronomical Observatory - Astronomical Society of Southern Africa Scholarships

The SAAO - ASSA Scholarships for undergraduates are no longer available. They were awarded to twelve different students on 15 occasions in the period 2007-2014.

The three students who held the Scholarships in 2014, Francois Botha, Dean De Villiers and Verlon Etsebeth, are all continuing with their undergraduate studies in 2015. Verlon Etsebeth has been awarded a HartRAO-ASSA Scholarship for 2015.

Expressions of appreciation

Dr Ian Glass, Sivuyile Manxoyi (SAAO), Marion West (HartRAO) and Andrew Gray are thanked for their valued inputs in the evaluation and selection of candidates during the period under review. Thanks also go to the lecturers and teachers who supplied assessments of candidates.

HartRAO and its Director, Prof Ludwig Combrinck, is thanked for generously making funds available for the HartRAO Scholarships. The support of Prof Nithaya Chetty, Deputy CEO Astronomy at the NRF, is noted with appreciation.

SAAO is thanked for making funds available for the SAAO-ASSA Scholarships in 2014.

After serving as Convenor of the ASSA Scholarships Committee for 14 years, Maciej Soltynski will step from down this position at the end of the ASSA year.