## ASSA Scholarships Report for the period 1 July 2015 to 30 June 2016

by Claire Flanagan (Convenor, ASSA Scholarships Committee)

## The ASSA Scholarship

The ASSA Scholarship was established in 2000 to encourage the study of Astronomy at any Southern African university at the 2nd and 3rd year level. The Scholarship is funded by ASSA, and has a value of R17,500 for 2016..

The 2016 ASSA Scholarship has been awarded to Brandon du Preez, third year BSc student at the University of Cape Town, majoring in Mathematics and Astrophysics. Du Preez held the 2015 scholarship, and obtained excellent results for his second-year courses.

## **HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships**

The three HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships, established in 2015, are generously sponsored by the Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory and are administered by ASSA. For 2016, the value of each was R16,000. Two full scholarships were awarded in 2016 to the following full-time students:

- **Jeremy Smith**: 3rd year Electrical and Computer Engineering student at UCT; Jeremy was a 2015 ASSA / HartRAO scholarship holder, and
- Mvelo Dhlamini: 1st year BSc student at Wits University.

The third HartRAO-ASSA Scholarship was split between two part-time UNISA students:

- **Verlon Etsebeth:** Etsebeth was a 2015 ASSA / HartRAO scholarship holder, and is currently in his third year of a BSc (Physics) degree, and
- **Francois Botha**: Botha is currently studying 2nd and 3rd year courses towards a BSc (Physics and Mathematics); he was a 2014 SAAO scholarship holder.

HartRAO will be funding three HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships, of R16,000 each, for 2017.

## **Scholarships Committee**

The Scholarships Committee currently comprises Ian Glass, Marion West (representing HartRAO), Maciej Soltynski, Andrew Gray, and Claire Flanagan (convenor). Sivuyile Manxoyi, who served on the committee as an SAAO representative while the SAAO scholarships were available, has agreed to re-join the committee. Maciej Soltynski, who served as convenor for the past fourteen years, stepped down in 2015, and the position was taken by Flanagan.

The convenor would like to express thanks to the committee (especially Mr Soltynski), and the ASSA Treasurer (AJ Nel) for their work this year. The generous funding from the Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory is appreciated, and our thanks goes to those who made this possible – Prof Nithaya Chetty (Deputy CEO, Astronomy, NRF) and Dr Ludwig Combrink (Director, HartRAO).