Report to ASSA from the Scholarships Committee

31 July 2018 From: Claire Flanagan

Scholarships Overview

ASSA administers five scholarships during 2018:

ASSA Scholarship – one available, for studies in astronomy, 2nd to 4th year; currently R 20,000;

Cooke Scholarship – one available, for studies in astronomy from 2nd year on; currently R 20,000.

HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships – three available for undergraduate astronomy-related studies, currently valued at R 16,000 each.

The three **HartRAO-ASSA Scholarships** were funded from 2015 to 2018 by NRF via the Hartebeesthoek Radio Astronomy Observatory. HartRAO was incorporated into the SA Radio Astronomy Observatory in 2017, and since SARAO includes SKA-SA, and the SKA has a large student funding project, the HartRAO-ASSA bursaries are now discontinued.

The Cooke Scholarship has been made available by the donation of the proceeds of the sale of the Cooke Refractor by the (now disbanded) Port Elizabeth Peoples Observatory.

Thus, from 2019 onwards, ASSA will be administering two scholarships – the Cooke and the ASSA Scholarships.

2018 Awards

Fourteen applications were received, and all five scholarships were awarded. The table below gives details of the awardees for 2018. All are first-time awardees.

Scholarship	Awardee
ASSA	Vineshree Pillay
	3 rd year UCT student studying Physics, Astrophysics and Applied
	Mathematics
Cooke	Kelly MacDevette
	3 rd year UCT student studying Astrophysics and Applied
	Mathematics
ASSA-HartRAO	Lethukuthula Mohlwayo
	1st year Wits student; Physics, Astronomy and Applied
	Mathematics
ASSA-HartRAO	Kevin Manabele
	1st year BSc student at Wits; Maths, Applied Maths, Physics and
	Astronomy
ASSA-HartRAO	Zane Lentz

1st year BSc student at UWC; Physics, Maths, Applied Maths and
Computer Science

Thanks again to HartRAO for their support during 2018.

News from 2017 Awardees

Five scholarships were awarded in 2017:

- Luca Sella-Rolando ASSA Scholarship (2017 only)
- obtained average 2nd year results
- Francois Botha partial HartRAO Scholarship (2015 2017); ASSA Scholarship (2014)
 awarded BSc, and plans to pursue BSc(Hons) in 2018
 HartRAO Scholarship (2015 2017)
 awarded first class degree; planning on doing MSc in Data Science program specializing in Data Science in Astronomy at UCT in 2018;
 Mvelo Dhlamini HartRAO Scholarship (2017 only)
 very good 1st year results (including 85% for Modern Astrophysics)
- Sumari Hattingh partial HartRAO Scholarship (2017 only) BSc degree awarded

Scholarships Committee

Dr Vanessa McBride (SAAO and OAD) was co-opted to replace Andrew Gray. Marion West has indicated that she will not be available from 2019.

The current committee comprises:

- Claire Flanagan (Convenor)
- Vanessa McBride (OAD and SAAO)
- Sivuyile Manxoyi (SAAO)
- Ian Glass
- Maciej Soltynski

Claire Flanagan ASSA Scholarships Convener