ASSA Council and Appointees for the year 2023/24

Role	Council Members 2023/24
President	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Vice President (Outgoing President)	Chris Stewart
Vice President (Incoming President)	Derek Duckitt
Treasurer	Adv AJ Nel
Membership Secretary	Andre Bruton
Secretary	Lerika Cross
Council Member	Case Rijsdijk
Council Member	Dr Ian Glass
Bloemfontein Representative	Dr Matie Hoffman
Cape Chair	Christian Hettlage
Durban Chair	Debbie Abel
Garden Route Chair	Case Rijsdijk
Johannesburg Chair	Carmel Ives
Pretoria Chair	Johan Smit
Hermanus Chair	Derek Duckitt

Role reporting into Council	Appointees
Convener of Scholarships	Dr Claire Flanagan
Communications Coordinator	Martin Heigan
Webmaster	John Gill
Web Manager: SAAO Liaison for Website	Dr Christian Hettlage
Social Media Liaisons	Allen Versfeld (Twitter) Martin Heigan (Flickr) Martin Heigan (Youtube) Kos Coronaios (ASSA FB Admin) Chris Stewart (ASSA FB Admin, .io Mail groups)

Special Interest Groups	Directors Appointees
Dark Sky	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Observing	Angus Burns (Caretaker role)
Double and Variable Stars	Dave Blane

ASSA Council and Appointees for the year 2023/24

Special Interest Groups	Directors Appointees
Photometry, Spectroscopy	Dave Blane (Caretaker role)
Cosmology and Astrophysics	Derek Duckitt
ASSA Archivist / History	Chris de Coning
Astrophotography	Martin Heigan
Instrumentation (including ATM)	Chris Stewart
Comet, Asteroid and Meteor (CAM)	Tim Cooper
Solar	Jacques van Delft
Outreach	Dr Pierre de Villiers

Scholarships Committee	
Dr Claire Flanagan	Scholarship Convenor
Dr Ian Glass	Retired Professional Astronomer
Sivuyile Manxoyi	EUNAWE, SAAO outreach
Maciej Soltynski	Previous Scholarship Convenor
Dr Vanessa McBride	OAD, SAAO, UCT

Publications Committee Members	
President	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Vice President (outgoing)	Chris Stewart
Vice President (incoming)	Dr Pierre de Villiers
Treasurer	Adv AJ Nel
Secretary	L Cross
Communications Coordinator	Martin Heigan
MNASSA Editor	Case Rijsdijk
Sky Guide – Editor	Auke Slotegraaf
Southern Skies - Editor	Angus Burns

Publications Support	
Sky Guide Assistant Editor, MNASSA Assistant Editor/ Layout Editor	Dr Ian Glass

ASSA Council and Appointees for the year 2023/24

Publications Support		
MNASSA Assistant Layout Editor	Willie Koorts	
Book Review Editor	Maciej Soltynski	
Web Manager	John Gill	
Web Master (SAAO Liaison)	Dr Christian Hettlage	
Professional Astronomer	Dr Ian Glass	
Professional Astronomer	Dr Vanessa McBride OAD/UCT/SAAO	