## MINUTES OF ASSA COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY 23rd June, 2009

Held in the SALT Boardroom, SAAO, at 8.00

- 1. <u>Welcome:</u> President Peter Martinez opened the meeting and welcomed all present.
- <u>Present:</u> Peter Martinez, Patricia Booth, Ian Glass, Laurie Simone, Maciej Soltynski, Christian Hettlage, Case Rijsdijk and Cliff Turk
- 3. <u>Apologies:</u>

We received apologies from Willie Koorts, Chris de Coning, Lia Labuschagne, Matie Hoffman, Atze Herder and Kevin Govender. Apologies from all up country members are automatically accepted.

4. <u>Ratify Previous Minutes:</u>

Council ratified the minutes of the previous Council meeting of the 21<sup>st</sup> April, 2009. No corrections were required.

Cliff Turk pointed out to Council that there was no quorum with some of the Council Meetings.

<u>Action:</u> Laurie Simone to identify the minutes concerned and present them at the Next Council meeting for ratification and signature.

- 5. <u>Matters Arising</u>:
  - A) <u>Auke's presentation for funding request</u>: Peter Martinez proposed that Auke Slotegraaf be invited to give his presentation to Council before the first Council meeting after the AGM. Peter further suggested that the presentation should take 15 minutes with a further 15 minutes for questions. The proposal was seconded by Case Rijsdijk and Maciej Soltynski. Maciej Soltynski posed the question and Cliff Turk confirmed that funds are available.

<u>Action:</u> Laurie Simone is to contact Auke Slotegraaf regarding the above.

B) <u>Replacement of outdated software MNASSA:</u> Willie Koorts submitted details of the software requirements valued at approximately R10,500.00. Cliff Turk suggested and Council approved an amount of R16,000.00. Willie koorts is to investigate a bundle package of software not to exceed the above value.

Action: Laurie Simone is to contact Willie Koorts regarding the above.

- C) <u>Parallax Campaign</u>: Peter Martinez apologised for not writing a letter of congratulations to the collaborators of the Parallax campaign and that a letter will be forthcoming to congratulate Case Rijsdijk and Lucas Ferreira.
- D) <u>Awards</u>: Cliff Turk suggested that in future applications be submitted to nominate recipients for Honorary Membership and Long Service awards. Council agreed with the suggestion. This suggestion arose because of some confusion as to who are current recipient of the above awards.

<u>Action</u>: Peter Martinez is to write a letter of congratulations to Magda Streicher, Case Rijsdijk and Maciej Soltynski for Honorary Membership and Pat Booth for the Long Service award.

6. <u>Obituary for Anthony Hilton:</u>

Correspondence was received from Brian Fraser requesting information for an Obituary for the late Anthony Hilton. Case Rijsdijk advised Council that he had emailed information Brian Fraser with the relevant information.

Action: The Secretary is to contact Brian Fraser to write the Obituary for Tony Hilton.

7. Editorial Board / ASSA Web Site:

Correspondence was received and read to Council from Anthony Jones. Tony advised Council that he is only available until the end of 2009 as Editor of Sky Guide and that the Editorial Board had approved Wayne Trow to take over from January 2010. Laurie Simone also pointed out to Council that the Editorial Board has to be elected at the AGM as per the constitution. The Constitution further states that "A named member of the Editorial Board" is to sit on Council.

It was not clear exactly what the Editorial Board is mandated to do. Case Rijsdijk proposed a Sub Committee of 3 to 4 members to define guide lines for the Board and that he would submit a draft Terms of Reference for such a subcommittee.

Action: Case Rijsdijk to draft a Terms of Reference of the proposed subcommittee.

- 8. <u>Report on Council AGM:</u> Laurie Simone To be read at the AGM.
- 9. <u>Directors Reports AGM</u>:
  - A) Comet, Meteor & Asteroids Section. Tim Cooper Received
  - B) Deep Sky Section. Auke Slotegraaf Received
  - C) Double Star Section. Lucas Ferreira Case Rijsdijk to enquire
  - D) Imaging Section. Oleg Toumilowitz Received
  - E) Occultation Section (Lunar, grazing and planetary) Brian Fraser Received
  - F) Solar Section. Jaques van Delfdt Received
  - G) Variable Stars. Chris Middleton Laurie Simone to enquire
  - H) Dark Sky Section. Cliff Turk Received
  - I) Education & Public Communication Section. Case Rijsdijk Received
  - j) Historical Section. Chris de Coning Received
  - K) Cosmology Section. Frikkie de Bruyn Received

Case Rijisdijk proposed that Council make the appointment of Lucas Ferreira as Director of the Double Star Section official. The proposal was seconded by Pat Booth and passed by Council and is tabled in the minutes herewith.

- 10. IYA 2009 AGM: Kevin Govender– Peter Martinez is to request a report from Kevin
- 11. <u>Financial Report AGM:</u> Cliff Turk to read it out at the AGM
- 12. <u>ASSA Scholarship Report AGM:</u> Maciej Soltynski to read it out at the AGM
- 13. <u>ASSA Endowment Trust Fund AGM:</u> Cliff Turk to read it out at the AGM
- 14. <u>Election of Council Members, Section Directors and Auditor:</u> The first problem with the nominations as per the Table circulated to members is that there are seven nominations for Council Members. The constitution only allows four. Case Rijsdijk suggested that three of the 7 nominations can sit on Council as Centre Representatives. Council was in agreement.

<u>Action:</u> Laurie Simone is to correspond with the additional three nominees selected by council to stand down and to have their Centre appoint them as Centre Representatives and they can sit on Council in this capacity.

The second problem was that no nominations were received for the positions of Membership Secretary, Secretary and Business Manager. Suggestions were made, but in general no conclusion was reached by Council.

- 15. <u>Presidential Address</u>: There will be a break at the AGM after item 14. The second period will start with the introduction of the new President by the past President, to be followed by the presentations of Awards. The AGM will end with a presentation by the Past President.
- 16. <u>Presentation of Awards:</u> Magda Streicher is presently arranging the printing of the Awards and will courier them to Cape Town to be signed by Peter Martinez and presented at the AGM.
- 17. <u>New Members:</u>

Council was appreciative with the help received from Lerika Cross and Margaret Kumalo who are keeping the membership database up to date in the absence of a Membership Secretary. There is still a problem concerning the confirmation of payment of subscription for membership and still has to be resolved pending information from the past Membership Secretary. Cliff Turk pointed out to Council that it is difficult to trace payments from the bank statements.

- 18. <u>Sky Guide:</u> See item 7 of these minutes.
- 19. <u>Correspondence:</u>

Correspondence was received by Matie Hoffman confirming that funds have been approved for an IYA 2009 project to be initiated by Boyden Observatory. This was passed on to Peter Martinez to take the appropriate action.

20. <u>Any other business:</u>

Cliff Turk suggested that prizes be awarded to the successful nominees of ASSA Awards. A subscription to Sky and Telescope for Honorary Membership and a book prize to the value of R500.00 for Long Service awards. This was unanimously approved by Council.

- 21. <u>AGM:</u> The AGM will be held in Cape Town on the Wednesday 29<sup>th</sup> of July in the Auditorium of the SAAO to commence at 8.00 pm
- 22. <u>The next Council meeting:</u> The next Council meeting after the AGM will be on the 8<sup>th</sup> September, 2009