Director Comet and Meteor Section 1993-2009; Director Comet, Asteroid and Meteor Section 2009-2013, and 2022 to date; ASSA President 2002/3.

## ASSA AGM

This was a Hybrid meeting, held on 22 August, 2022 It was well attended and a full report will be presented in the next issue of *MNASSA*.

In the tables below are the details of the up-dated members of Council and all the Appointees for the period 2022/23

Role	Council Members 2022/23
President	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Vice President (Outgoing President)	Chris Stewart
Vice President (Incoming President)	Dr Pierre de Villiers
Treasurer	AJ Nel
Membership Secretary	Eddy Nijeboer
Secretary	Lerika Cross
Council Member	Case Rijsdijk
Council Member	Dr Ian Glass
Bloemfontein Representative	Thinus van der Merwe
Cape Chair	Christian Hettlage
Durban Chair	Amith Rajpal
Garden Route Chair	Case Rijsdijk
Johannesburg Chair	Carmel Ives
Pretoria Chair	Johan Smit
Hermanus Chair	Derek Duckitt

Role reporting into Council	Appointees
Convener of Scholarships	Dr Claire Flanagan
Communications Coordinator	Dr Sally MacFarlane
Observing Director	Angus Burns
Webmaster	John Gill

Web Manager: SAAO Liaison for Website	Dr Christian Hettlage
ASSA Archivist	Chris de Coning
Social Media Liaisons	Allen Versfeld (Twitter) Martin Heigan (Flickr) Sally MacFarlane (Youtube) Kos Coronaios (ASSA FB Admin) Chris Stewart (Mail groups)

Special Interest Groups	Directors
Dark Sky	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Observing	Angus Burns
Double and Variable Stars	Dave Blane
Photometry, Spectroscopy	Dave Blane (Caretaker role)
Cosmology and Astrophysics	Bruce Dickson
ASSA History	Chris de Coning
Astrophotography	Martin Heigan
Instrumentation (including ATM)	Chris Stewart
Comet, Asteroid and Meteor Section	Tim Cooper

Scholarships Committee		
Dr Claire Flanagan	Scholarship Convenor	
Dr Ian Glass	Retired Professional Astronomer	
Sivuyile Manxoyi	EUNAWE, SAAO outreach	
Maciej Soltynski	Previous Scholarship Convenor	
Dr Vanessa McBride	OAD, SAAO, UCT	

Publications Committee	
Editor - MNASSA	Case Rijsdijk
Asst Editor – MNASSA, Sky Guide	lan Glass
Assistant Layout Editor / Consultant	Willie Koorts
Book Review Editor	Maciej Soltynski
Editor – Sky Guide	Auke Slotegraaf
Pro Astronomer	Em Prof. Brian Warner
Pro Astronomer	Dr Ian Glass
Pro Astronomer	Dr Vanessa McBride

## Eight Years' Observations of Asynchronous Orbital Frequencies of the Redback Millisecond Pulsar PSR J1723-2837.

André van Staden (Overberg, South Africa) andre@etiming.co.za

**Abstract:** I report here on extended photometric observations of the companion of a millisecond pulsar (MSP), PSR J1723-2837. The new eight years data, inclusive of Kepler K2 photometry data, confirmed our initial reports on modulated light curve signals that were not synchronized to the orbital period (van Staden & Antoniadis 2016).

The extended campaign now allowed for accurate tracking of asynchronous frequencies over time and identification of new signals. From my data it was possible to produce isolated light curves of these signals that had the properties expected from star spots. The identified spots showed lifetimes in excess of 5 years.

From the data presented, I have calculated the most extreme differential rotation of  $\Delta\Omega/\Omega \approx$  -0.0055, rotating faster than the orbital period while a rotation ratio of  $\Delta\Omega/\Omega \approx$  0.00079 was observed, rotating slower than the orbital period.

## 1 INTRODUCTION

Redback and BW companion stars are believed to be tidally locked and their orbit circularized during a long evolution process (e.g. Hurley et al. 2002). However, van Staden & Antoniades (2016) showed that the companion star to PSR J1723-2837 showed modulation of the LC with asynchronous frequencies slightly above the orbital