ASSA Council and Appointees for the year 2024/25

Updated: 15 Sep 2024

Role	Council Members 2024/25
President	Derek Duckitt
Vice President (Outgoing President 1)	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Vice President (Incoming President)	Prof Matie Hoffman
Treasurer	Adv AJ Nel
Membership Secretary	Andre Bruton
Secretary	Lerika Cross
Council Member	Case Rijsdijk
Council Member	Dr Ian Glass
Bloemfontein Chair	Dr Matie Hoffman
Cape Chair	Willem Brazelle
Durban Chair	Mike Hadlow
Garden Route Chair	Peter Hers
Johannesburg Chair	John Lindsay-Smith
Pretoria Chair	Johan Smit
Hermanus Chair	Derek Duckitt

Role reporting into Council	Appointees
Convener of Scholarships	Dr Claire Flanagan
Communications Coordinator	Martin Heigan
Webmaster	John Gill
Web Manager: SAAO Liaison for Website	Dr Christian Hettlage
Social Media Liaisons	Allen Versfeld (Twitter) Martin Heigan (Flickr) Martin Heigan (Youtube) Chris Stewart (ASSA FB Admin, .io Mail groups) Kos Coronaios (ASSA FB Admin)

Sections	Directors Appointees
ASSA Archivist / History	Chris de Coning
Astrophotography	Martin Heigan
Comet, Asteroid and Meteor (CAM)	Tim Cooper

Sections	Directors Appointees
Cosmology and Astrophysics	Derek Duckitt
Dark Sky	Dr Daniel Cunnama
Observing	Colin Steyn
Double and Variable Stars	Dave Blane
Instrumentation (including ATM)	Chris Stewart
Outreach	Dr Pierre de Villiers
Photometry, Spectroscopy	Dave Blane (Caretaker role)
Planetary	Clyde Foster
Solar	Jacques van Delft

Scholarships Committee		
Dr Claire Flanagan	Scholarship Convenor	
Dr Ian Glass	Retired Professional Astronomer	
Sivuyile Manxoyi	SAAO	
Maciej Soltynski	Previous Scholarship Convenor	
Analize Jooste	ASSA Country member	

Editorial Board		
MNASSA Editor	Willie Koorts	
Sky Guide Southern Africa, Editor	Auke Slotegraaf	
Sky Guide Assistant Editor, MNASSA Assistant Editor/ Layout Editor, Professional Astronomer	Dr Ian Glass (Member, SAAO)	
MNASSA Assistant Layout Editor	Willie Koorts	
Book Review Editor	Maciej Soltynski	
Webmaster	John Gill	
Web Master (SAAO Liaison)	Dr Christian Hettlage	