Council and Officers

The ASSA Council serves as the umbrella body for the autonomous Centres of the Society. Council members, officers and collaborators are:

ASSA Council

  • President: Chris Stewart
  • Vice President: Case Rijsdijk
  • Honorary Treasurer: Adv. A J Nel
  • Honorary Secretary: Lerika Cross
  • Membership Secretary: Wilmi Nel
  • Council member: Dr. Ian Glass
  • Council member: Clyde Foster
  • Council member: Dr. Pieter Kotze
  • Bloemfontein Centre Chair: Thinus van der Merwe
  • Cape Centre Chair: Marius Reitz
  • Durban Centre Chair: Piet Strauss
  • Garden Route Centre Chair: Case Rijsdijk
  • Hermanus Centre Chair: Dr. Pierre de Villiers
  • Johannesburg Centre Chair: Carmen Ives
  • Pretoria Centre Chair: Bosman Olivier

ASSA Appointees

  • MNASSA Editor: Case Rijsdijk
  • MNASSA Assistant Editor: Dr. Ian Glass
  • MNASSA Book Review Editor: Maciej Soltynski
  • MNASSA Layout Editor: Willie Koorts
  • Nightfall Editor: Douglas Bullis
  • Sky Guide Editor: Auke Slotegraaf
  • Sky Guide Assistant Editor: Dr. Ian Glass
  • Professional Astronomer: Emeritus Prof. Brian Warner
  • Professional Astronomer: Emeritus Prof. Michael Feast
  • Web Master: John Gill
  • SAAO Liaison for Website: Dr. Christian Hettlage
  • Convener of Scholarships: Dr. Claire Flanagan
  • ASSA Observing Director: Kos Coronaios
  • ASSA Communications Director: Case Rijsdijk
  • ASSA Outreach Officer: Kos Coronianos
  • ASSA Archivist: Chris de Coning

Section Directors

  • Shallow Sky: Clyde Foster
  • Deep-Sky: Douglas Bullis
  • Double and Variable Stars: Dave Blane
  • Photometry, Spectroscopy: Percy Jacobs
  • Cosmology and Astrophysics: Bruce Dickson
  • Southern African Astronomy History: Chris de Coning
  • Dark Sky: Council to consider options in due course
  • Imaging Section: Martin Heigan
  • Instrumentation: Chris Stewart
  • Citizen Science: Allen Versfeld

Scolarship Committee

  • Scholarship Convenor: Dr. Claire Flanagan
  • Retired Professional Astronomer: Dr. Ian Glass
  • Representing HartRAO; Professional Astronomer & Outreach: Marion West
  • SAAO, Outreach: Sivuyile Manxoyi
  • Previous Scholarship Convenor: Maciej Soltynski

Find out more

  1. Annual General Meeting reports
  2. Archived Minutes of Meetings