Council of the Cape Centre of the Astronomical Society of Southern Africa

History / Minutes / Constitution

History of the Cape Centre.
The Cape Centre (CC) was preceded by the Cape Astronomical Association (C.A.A.) which was the oldest Astronomical Society in Southern Africa. The  C.A.A. was founded on 8th November 1912 and existed for approximately ten years. The Johannesburg Astronomical Association (J.A.A.) was founded in 1918. On 23rd August 1922 the two societies (C.A.A. &  J.A.A.) amalgamated to form the Astronomical Society of South Africa.(A.S.S.A.) The two parent associations respectively became the Cape Centre and the Johannesburg Centre of A.S.S.A.

 Minutes of the meetings.
The documents available here as digital copies are held in the Archive of A.S.S.A. This archive is at present housed at the Archive at UCT. The Minutes of the Cape Centre are bound in a series of books.

Twentieth Century
1920’s; 1930’s; 1940’s; 1950’s; 1960’s; 1970’s; 1980’s; 1990’s

Twenty First Century
2000; 2010

The minutes of the last ten years are not available to the public.


The National Society is governed by it’s constitution. The Centres of A.S.S.A. does not have their own constitutions as they fall under the Constitution of Council.